Lake Kawaguchiko and Mt. Fuji Pink moss

I have seen Mt. Fuji many times from Shinkansen when travelling from Osaka to Tokyo but I have never seen it up close before nor that I have hiked/climbed it.

This spring, I saw the poster of Pink Moss festival posted everywhere near the train station. I was so determined that I will go to this festival and take a photo with Mt. Fuji!

The poster of 2014 event


I checked several tour plans online;

And I finally chose the bus tour from Tokyo (depart from Shinjuku)

The itinerary includes;

1. Visit Level 5 of Mt. Fuji

2. Lunch at the local restaurant near lake Kawaguchiko

3. Visit pink moss (shiba-zakura) park

4. Return to Tokyo

Luckily, we are blessed with wonderful weather.

Super cars park in front of service area.


It takes 2 hours from Tokyo to Yamanashi. Finally I can see Fuji san outside the window.

Fuji Subaru line 5th station or Yoshidaguchi 5th station is about 2,300 meters above sea level. It is located almost half way point of Yoshida trail and easy to access by public transportation. Hiking trails only open in summer but this station opens all years round so it attracts many tourists from around the world.

Not-so-shy fuji san


The scenery


Next destination is Lake Kawaguchiko.

This lake is one of the five surrounding Mt. Fuji.

The bus stop here for about 2 hours. We have time to have lunch and walk around the lake. I notice that there are many hot spring hotel in this area. It should be fun to come here in winter.

Spectacular view from out the window at the restaurant I have lunch.


Lake Kawaguchiko


Breath-taking scenery


Although Japanese people don’t eat fresh water fish very much, there are many people fishing at the lakeside. I wonder what kind of fish they get from this lake. Is it edible?

and finally, the highlight of today trip, pink moss festival!



pink moss

up close and personal


The 2 Mt. Fuji

pink moss2

I hope you enjoy this blog!


For optional tour reservation and inquiry, please contact or visit one of our Tourist information center in Tokyo.

TIC banner blog1

One thought on “Mt.Fuji

  1. Pingback: Lake Kawaguchiko |

Leave a Reply

