warabi mochi

Warabi mochi~ The casual looking but extremely delicious Japanese sweet

Warabi mochi is said to be the most popular wagashi (Japanese traditional sweet) in Kansai region but not quite so across Japan. Originally made from bracken starch, warabi mochi has a chewy and soft texture. Chilled warabi mochi with kinako (roasted soybean powder) is the best summer sweet (all year sweet for me).

While many wagashi comes with extraordinary shapes and color, which usually looks too good to eat, warabi mochi appears to be pretty normal, not to say it does not look appetizing to many people. That maybe the reason why it is not well-known to visitors and of course, I did not know about it during previous trips to Japan. However, soon after I started to live here, warabi mochi has become my first and top wagashi addiction. Whenever I tell my friends my favorite sweet is warabi mochi, their comments are ‘woa, that is so Japanese!’

Typical Wagashi “spring” limited

Assorted Japanese  Hinamatsuri sweets

I have tried so many type and different style of eating warabi mochi, and I have to say, kinako and and kuromitsu (Japanese’s black honey) are the best combination for this dish. Drizzles of kuromitsu has lighter texture and taste compared to honey; with lots of light sweet soybean fragrance from kinako powder on top of chilled, chewy and marshmallow-soft warabi mochi will surely change your opinion about this dish!

Warabi mochi usually comes in rectangle block, covered in kinako powder. As both the mochi and kinako themselves are already sweet, many people prefer to eat it with 2 ingredients.

warabi mochi

If you could not find any places that sell warabi mochi, maybe head to a nearby super market and hopefully you will find this, droplet shaped warabi mochi pack, which has both kinako powder and kuromitsu sachet.


Many cafes and restaurants in Tokyo serve a little more fancy version of warabi mochi on their dessert menu. How about some matcha warabi mochi with vanilla ice-cream, strawberry jams and red beans?


The station where I stay sometimes has pop-up stores and only there I could find my favorite type of warabi mochi, the one filled with kuromitsu. Unfortunately I can’t remember the store’s name so all I could do is to wait for it to come back to my station. The second time that store came back to my place, I immediately bought 3 packs of it (and still can’t remember the name of it ToT). While traditional warabi mochi is plain block made from bracken starch, those come with red beans or kuromitsu fillings taste unexpectedly amazing.

Warabi mochi might not look appealing, but you have to try it to fully understand the reason why I am obsessed with it. Never judge a book by its cover!

See you next blog!


For optional tour reservation and inquiry, please contact tic-tokyo@his-world.com or visit one of our Tourist information center in Tokyo.

TIC banner blog1


4 thoughts on “Warabi mochi~ The casual looking but extremely delicious Japanese sweet

Leave a Reply

