The best “Izakaya” in Kyoto

Izakaya (居酒屋) is a Japanese style drinking place that serve food and alcohol. Perhaps kinda like a pub or tavern in Europe. In Japan, it is very common and you can find in any parts of town.

The word itself is combined from “居”to stay and “酒屋” which mean liquor store.

Last week, I wrote about the monthly flea market Kobo-san in Kyoto, this particular Izakaya I am talking is very close to Toji Temple which I used to go to almost every month when there was a flea market during my time in Kyoto.

I found this little gems by coincidence. The food is great and the owner is so kind. I’ve been there so many times that everyone there knows me well. I asked the owner (I called her Mama) if I can write about her Izakaya in our blog, she gave me the permission.


There, I would like to introduce you to Madoi (団居).


Just 1 min walk from Toji temple >> Map

Opening hours 18.00-24.00


both table and counter seats
many kinds of sake!


The special thing about Madoi is, they serve Kyoto style food using seasonal local products.


Looking at these Matsutake mushroom! they are giants (local product from north of kyoto)


credit : Madoi fanpage


my first drink and welcome appetizer



Warming up the night with some salad







Sea eel “Anago” Tempura



Egg menu, chawamushi (steam egg) and tamagoyaki (rolled egg)






This is fish liver, typically eat with ponzu



This is my favorite, cheese ball!



Hot pot menu




There were 4 of us. I would say we eat quite a lot for the course of 3 hours. If you don’t drink, don’t worry, you can still enjoy the food.

When there is a flea market, Madoi is opening for lunch as well.


Lunch set of the day, fried oyster set



In my opinion, this is one of the best Izakaya in Kyoto. The location is quite secluded from downtown area but you can definitely feel more local vibe. I am not much of a big drinker so I don’t really know the different between good sake and bad sake. I simply enjoy the food and the companies of people I go drinking with.

When you visit Japan, please don’t miss out the chance to drink in local Izakaya. After all, “When in Rome, do as the Romans do”, right?

See you next blog!



Banner-2 Large





2 thoughts on “The best “Izakaya” in Kyoto

Leave a Reply

