Wonders of the World Heritage Site by UNESCO Shirakawago ~ Hida Takayama

Hello everyone!

It is not too late to find a snowy place in Japan in late February until early March. There are some spots still with snowfall. My favorite spot would be the Shirakawa-go, the World Heritage Site declared by UNESCO in 1995.

Since I am not eligible to hold a JR pass and trains aren’t accessible  to Shirakawa-go, I decided to visit there via 2 days 1 night bus tour to avoid the troublesome of routing.

To be frank, I did not expect too much because I thought that my time and activities would be limited since I’m traveling by  bus tour.

However, that tour took me by surprise !

Let me show you what I went through  in only 2 days 1 night..!

Day 1,  Shirakawa-go. Strolling around the traditional village.


Traditional Farmer’s House
Souvenir Shop



Do you wanna build a snowman?

Day 2, San Machi Street and Hirayu Grand Waterfall.

The bus tour also brought us to the famous Sanmachi Street (さんまち通り). It is a historical site where you can walk along the beautiful old streets and also grab some delicious street food.



Street shop to eat the famous Hida-beef


Local’s daily activity


Adjourned is the marvelous Hirayu Grand Waterfall (Hirayu Otaki),  it is featured in the Japanese top 100 falls. It`s even better to see this fall during winter!

Scenery from the bus along the way to Hirayu Otaki


On our way to the waterfall. It took about 5 minutes walk.


The Waterfall!! and it was freezing!

That was my wonderful 2 days trip. I would highly recommend you to visit this site by bus tour. As you don’t have to hassle and struggle all the way to the site. And you will not miss out on any wonderful moments.

If you have any inquiries about it,  please feel free to ask our staff for any available tours to Shirakawa-go and you will definitely get the best deals!

Thank you for reading , see ya!





Leave a Reply

