Nagano Trip Series : Hot Spring Village, Snow Monkey, Castle and More! (Teaser)

Hello everyone! I am a new blogger at TIC blog.

I am glad to meet everyone! From now on, I will try my best to bring you useful information and interesting things about Japan!

Although, I have been living in Tokyo for a while now, I am still fascinated every time I visit new places. Every corner of Japan always surprises me and I want to share these awesome experiences with you! I am sure that you will love this place as much as I do. Now, let’s get started on our journey!



Tokyo, Osaka, Hokkaido and etc., all of these major cities are fun to visit but aren’t they too mainstream?

TIC banner Osaka


Don’t get me wrong. If you visit Japan for the first time, of course, these are recommended cities.

TIC banner nara



However, if you are looking for place that you can experience rich culture,history, tradition and nature of Japan, I know a one-stop destination which I am sure that will make your trip to Japan the most memorable one.

It’s only 1.5 hr. by Shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo, “Nagano” Prefecture (長野県)






Nagano is located in the center of “Honshu Island (本州)” or the main island, called “Chubu Area (中部地方)” which is just one prefecture away from Tokyo.

Since Nagano is quite close to the Sea of Japan (upper part of island) and surrounded by so many high mountains, it is also known for Snowboarding and Skiing. So, you don’t have to go as far as Hokkaido.

In Nagano, you can experience rich nature, cultures and traditions in every season. Some of which can only be found in Nagano!!! 


Did you know that not only Japanese people but also Japanese Monkey’s love Onsen (Hot Spring)!! and Yes!! you can experience it in Nagano.



Nagano preserves some of the most ancient history and architecture from all of Japan. The oldest Buddhist Image in Japan、called Hibutsu (Secret Buddha) or a hidden Buddha statue, has been preserved here since the 7th century.



That’s not all!

If you think that castles in Japan are all the same, wait until you visit Matsumoto Castle (松本城) or “Crow Castle”.

It is the pride of the people in Nagano with a rich history and elegance, the same as Himeji Castle, Osaka Castle and Nagoya Castle.




I’m sure that everyone has seen these paintings before….


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Source: Wikipedia)


One of the most recognized paintings of Japan were first drawn here and you can come to see the real painting and know the history behind them! How awesome is that!


Last but not least, villages of natural hot springs are waiting for you to visit and have the best relaxation of all.

Let’s get rid of the stress from work and enjoy  hot spring resorts that have a history as long as 1,300 years.

“The Onsen Challenge” —-> visit and collect stamps from  9 Local Onsen in the village.




Last month, I had the chance to visit Nagano twice (Lucky me!). I explored many fantastic places and can’t wait to tell you about them. It was one of my best trips in Japan of all, twice is not nearly enough! I can guarantee!!

Today, I am bringing you just a teaser of my Nagano Trip. I am sure that you want to know more and I cannot wait to tell you as well, so please stay tuned to my series. I will update my blog with full sets of pictures and details with the following schedule.


Nagano Trip Series : Matsumoto Castle (松本城) The Crow Castle

Nagano Trip Series : Jigokudani (地獄谷) Snow Monkey Onsen

Nagano Trip Series : Obuse (小布施): City of Chestnet & The Famous Painting

Nagano Trip Series : Zenkoji Temple (善光寺): Temple from bygone days 

Nagano Trip Series : Shibu Onsen (渋温泉): Village of Onsen (n/a)


I hope that you have a fun time reading my blog. If you have any comments please feel free to leave them down below in the comment section. If you want to ask me and other bloggers about Japan, we have H.I.S Live Chat System for you. That’s all for today! See you in the 1st episode!!!



4 thoughts on “Nagano Trip Series : Hot Spring Village, Snow Monkey, Castle and More! (Teaser)

Leave a Reply

