Journey into Nakameguro and Omotesando

One of my favorite Hawaiian restaurants  is a place called Aloha Table.

Thanks to the Hawaiian food boom in Japan,  Aloha Table was brought here a couple of years ago.

I had a day off last Friday, so decided to have brunch at Aloha Table to celebrate my wonderful Aloha Friday. I pulled myself out of my bed early in the morning, and took Metro F Line from Shinjukusanchome to Nakameguro.




Nakameguro is a popular spot for cherry blossom viewing. Just imagine how beautiful this view will become when covered by tens of thounds of beautiful pink petals in several weeks.


The restaurant was very close to the train station. It only took me about 2 minutes to walk from the station.

Acai Bowl


Acai Bowl is my favorite breakfast menu. It is made of fresh fruits and have all kinds of nutrition. The size of the Acai Bowl in Japan is a little bit disappointing. Back in Hawaii, I could spend about the same price to get a much larger bowl. Since the taste was super good, I won’t complain too much.





My Japanese friend told me that in Japanese food have genders. Things like Gyuudon and Yakiniku are considered as “masculine food’. On the other hand, salad and pancakes are considered as “feminine food”. It is very rare to see guys going to eat pancakes without girls here in Japan. There are 3~5 choices for pancakes in Aloha Table. I ordered this strawberry and raspberry flavor.

Other than acai bowls and pancakes, there are also many other kinds of Hawaiian food such as garlic shrimp plates and mochiko chicken plates.  


Aloha Table Nakameguro
Address: 〒153-0051 Tokyo-to, Meguro-ku, Kamimeguro 1-7-8
Aparto Nakameguro 1F
Phone number: 03-6416-5432
Hours: 11:30~23:30


After my  delicious brunch at Aloha Table, I took the Metro F Line to Meiji Jingumae for shopping. Harajuku/ Omotesando area is considered as the center of the “Oshare (fashion) Culture” among Japanese young people. Different from other high end shopping districts such as Ginza or Daikanyama, Harajuku has its special charms. Not only many famous western brands, there are also wide selections for Japanese local designs.



What I love the most about this area are those magical alleys like Cat Street or the Uraharajuku area. Every visit something new happens, and I always find interesting things to see and to buy there.  Even people from other parts of Japan say that Harajuku gives them a feeling of being in Tokyo. This is the center of fashion and design in Tokyo.

Check out this Emoji gallery!



There are “Oshare” elements everywhere.


A gorgeous mural I found


Many people have asked me where to have good Japanese food in the Harajuku and Omotesando area. I thought very hard but nothing really came into my mind.

This area is all about special and exotic experiences for Japanese people. There are more famous western restaurants than Japanese restaurants.




My attention was drawn by a lobster place, because many people were lining up for it. I was in line for about 15 minutes, then I got this super tasty lobster roll.



There are two sizes: regular and US.  I was not very satisfied with my regular size. The US size looks more like a regular size to me. If you are a foodie like me, just get the US size.

Luke’s Lobster
Address: 〒150-0001 東京都渋谷区神宮前6-7-1
Phone number: +81 357783747
Hours: 11:00 ~ 20:00


LAFORET ラフォーレ原宿

On my way going back to the train station, I decided to pay a short visit at the famous shopping center-Laforet. I have heard it and passed it so many times, but I have never actually go into it. It is for people who love Japanese unique style. Especially for young ladies who are into Lolita fashion and cute designs.



One of the shops there was BadeFee. 



Check out these cute cupcakes!!! 




However, they are not real cupcakes.These are actual cupcake bath bombs. I have never used one in my life, but they look so delicious and cute. The staff there told me that these little “cupcakes” can bring my bath experience to the next level. I know it sounds very abstract. I will let you know after I tried it.


Address: 〒150-0001 東京都渋谷区神宮前1-11-6
Phone number: 03-3475-0411
Hours: 11:00~21:00

That’s it for today. See you next time!

Written by Meng Xu.

Edit by Christine





Leave a Reply

