TIC Blog_Header_sushi

Mastering the sushi making in 1 hour

Sushi is one of the most popular Japanese foods worldwide. Even in my home country, you can find sushi bars all over the city, selling a variety of traditional and more creative types of sushi roll. It is probably the most famous Japanese food!

In today’s blog I will tell you about my experience making sushi myself, with the help of the teachers at Chagohan in Asakusa.



The store exterior gives off a calm, classy vibe
A variety of souvenirs, including rice tea, maccha whisks and teapots.
Cookware on this table are used for cooking Shokado bento


First, I was given an introduction to the day’s menu and recipes in English. This was to bring home so I can try making the foods at home too🙂


The calm store interior



The first thing I made was the miso soup.

I felt like I was on a cooking show where the ingredients were measured out and presented beautifully.

My kind teacher Hiroko-san explained how to make dashi (kelp and bonito stock), but this takes a long time to make so it was prepared in advance.


Clockwise from top left: daikon, wakame, miso paste, spring onion




This was heated and combined with daikon and spring onion, with miso paste gently stirred in. The wakame is delicate so it was put straight into the soup bowl instead of boiling it with the soup.

The miso soup can be made with either white or red miso, but today we used white miso which has a lighter flavour. I think red miso must be great as a more hearty soup when winter comes again.



Hiroko-san helped guide me through the process


After finishing making the miso soup, it was covered and put aside while I made the sushi.


If I can make it properly, I get a certificate



The first part of making sushi is preparing the rice. Warm cooked rice is combined with a rice vinegar, sugar and salt mixture.

I used a flat wooden spoon to fold this in. It started off quite watery looking but as the rice absorbed the vinegar, the water gradually disappeared.


The finished sushi rice



Next, it was time to put the sushi together. The process to make the nigiri sushi was more complicated than I thought!

I had this idea that you just grab a handful of rice and stick the fish on top, but there is a special method to press the rice together gently and evenly. Luckily I had a great teacher to show me how.


Showing me how to make the sushi


I think I made some improvement with each piece!



Unlike the nigiri sushi, the “gunkan” sushi is wrapped around with seaweed, with the minced tuna or salmon caviar on top.

The name gunkan refers to a “traditional warship”. I guess it is oval shaped like the sushi?


The shiny side of the seaweed should go on the outside


Before making each sushi, we have to wet our hands to prevent the rice from sticking


The egg sushi is wrapped around with a “belt” of nori to keep it together


Making a gunkan sushi with salmon roe (ikura)



In total, I made 12 pieces!

Here you can compare Hiroko-san’s example (left) with my beginner attempt (right).


The completed sushi


Posing with my creation


The gradual improvement in the shape of my nigiri


Egg, salmon roe, minced tuna, prawn, tuna and squid



These were all traditional ingredients for sushi, but there were a lot of types I tried for the first time today!

When ordering at a restaurant I usually stick to salmon, tuna and egg so this was a new experience in more than one way.


I didn’t do such a bad job, right?



Before eating, we say “itadakimasu”.

This greeting honors the place where our food came from, and the fishermen and rice farmers.

You can read more about table manner in Japan in our blog >> here.


Finally it was time to eat



The sushi ended up tasting really good! I could really taste the freshness of the ingredients.

Although I eat sushi pretty often in my daily life, this was my first time to make it myself. It was quite a bit more complicated than I was expecting, so it was a big help to have an English-speaking teacher guide me through every step.



I think I will continue eating sushi at restaurants rather than at home, but I could develop a real appreciation for the skill of the sushi chefs and the art that goes into it!


Certificate of completion


If you want to try making your own sushi, contact us at tic-tokyo@his-world.com or make a reservation online on hisgo >> Here

Chagohan also offer courses in matcha and okonomiyaki. It would make a great morning activity before exploring Asakusa in the afternoon. The one catch is you have to book at least a day in advance.


Location : Chagohan 

A few mins walk from Tawaramachi station, Subway Ginza line






One thought on “Mastering the sushi making in 1 hour

Leave a Reply

